Take your Windows Terminal and PowerShell to the next level with Terminal Icons

I’m having a blast customizing my terminal and making my prompt awesome.

I thought it was lovely when I added Oh my Posh 3. But now that I’ve seen Kayla Cinnamon’s terminal MINE IS HIDEOUS!

Windows Terminal Pretty Prompt

Ok, what can we add? MOAR ICONS.

Turns out that Brandon Olin from StackOverflow has created a Terminals Icons package that is *chefs kiss*. Go give this man 1000 stars, please.

Given I’m using the completely overpowered “caskaydiacove nf” Nerd Font Variant of the lovely Cascadia Code font, I’ve got all the icons I need ready to go!

I just install. (I’m using PowerShell 7 from the Windows Store, but remember PowerShell is cross platform):

PS> Install-Module -Name Terminal-Icons -Repository PSGallery

And then add one line to my $profile (edit with “code $profile”):

Import-Module -Name Terminal-Icons

Now look at a directory, use dir, ls, or get-childitem, it doesn’t matter…AND BEHOLD:

Lovely PowerShell with Directory Icons

Thanks Brandon and Kayla! Great stuff! What customizations have YOU made?


Sponsor: Extend your runway and expand your reach. Oracle for Startups delivers enterprise cloud at a startup price tag with free cloud credits to help you reel in the big fish—confidently. Learn more!


© 2021 Scott Hanselman. All rights reserved.

 

 

 

 

Take your Windows Terminal and PowerShell to the next level with Terminal Icons published first on http://7elementswd.tumblr.com/

Author: Philip Holt

If you want to keep up with the latest in web design, you have to be willing to study and learn on an ongoing basis. If you are a web developer or web designer, you’ll find a lot of useful tutorials and code snippets collection here. Furthermore, we also discuss more general topics of web design and how the role of a web designer has evolved over the years.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started